Cross-appointed Faculty

Our faculty is composed of officially cross-appointed academic leaders from Carleton University. The Institute is proud to encourage students to expand their minds and explore their research interests through coursework in a number of related departments that specialize in perspectives of political economy. The faculty members listed below are recognized as valuable contributors to the Institute as thesis and research essay supervisors and committee members. Students may also select a faculty member whose name is not listed below as their supervisor.

Each semester, the Institute hosts a Visiting Professor whose area of expertise is in the field of Political Economy. We have been pleased to host academic luminaries such as Harriet Friedman from Munk School of Global Affairs at University of Toronto, as well as professors from Turkey, Venezuela, Japan, Mexico, the United Kingdom, the United States and more.

Director, Institute of Political Economy

School of Indigenous and Canadian Studies

Department of Economics

Department of Geography and Environmental Studies

Department of History

Institute of Interdisciplinary Studies

School of Journalism and Communication 

Department of Law

Department Political Science

School of Public Policy and Administration

Department of Sociology and Anthropology

School of Social Work

Pauline Jewett Institute of Women’s and Gender Studies

Distinguished Research Professors

Dr. Hugh Armstrong
Dr. Rianne Mahon

Adjunct Research Professors

Dr. Aaron Henry, Policy Analyst, Office of Energy Efficiency, Department of Natural Resources

Dr. Teresa Healy, Associate Professor of Sustainable Development, SIT Graduate Institute

Andrew Jackson, Senior Policy Advisor, Broadbent Institute

Dr. Angela Joya

Dr. Tom Juravich, Professor, Department of Sociology, University of Massachusetts at Amherst, MA

Dr. Judy Meltzer, Director General, Carbon Pricing Bureau, Environment and Climate Change Canada

Dr. B. Jane Parpart, University of Massachusetts, Boston, MA

Jane Stinson, Project Manager, FemNorthNet, Canadian Research Institute for the Advancement of Women

Dr. Jeffrey Ayres, Professor and Chair, Department of Political Science and International Relations,
Saint Michael’s College, Colchester, VT